Archive and Search




Wicked Premiere New Video

I've talked about Wicked in the past. They are a glam band from New York. Now the band has a new video for the song called "Reptile Roots." I can't tell if the look is parody or not. Are they trying to be like Steel Panther or is this serious? I honestly can't decide. In the end, I guess this is all about having fun and I think we all need more of that in our lives these days.


Sebastian Bach Announces Tour

Sebastian Bach just announced his "Home Away From Home" Tour 2018! The Standstills will provide support as Bach weaves his way across America and Canada. There aren't a whole lot of American dates here, but some in the midwest and California. Maybe Bach will add more in the next few weeks. Who is going?


Tuesday Two-Fer, IV: Ozzy 

From our friend HIM.


The easiest way for me to deal with Ozzy is to squint. When I do that, I tend to only see the Ozzy I want to see. The young, tasseled, wild man with the unruly mop of hair leading Iommi, Butler, and Ward through their doom-ladened and often experimental paces. The musical genius set on self-destruct, yet somehow eluding death with a slurred cackle and a smile. But, as his solo career blossomed, it also paradoxically withered for me. The Prince of Darkness became the Court Jester, a cruel example of the thing you are known for becoming a punchline you can’t see. I still owe the man a musical debt. However, I now tend to dig into the archives when I want to focus on the positive.
First Pick: “Tonight,” Diary Of A Madman (1981)

There is, at this point, a huge asterisk next to any Ozzy song. Putting aside the issue of who wrote this song, one can still applaud the Prince for the emotive qualities of his delivery on this under-appreciated track from his early solo career. The song is moody and introspective, closer to his Sabbath roots than the polished sheen of his later outings. And Ozzy’s voice is matched by the perfect trio of Rhoads, Kerslake, and Daisley.
Second Pick: “No More Tears,” No More Tears (1991)

Ozzy, the brand, the machine, the Sharon-train—shouldn’t sound this good at this point in his career. Chalk it up to the production of Purdell. Attribute it to the pinch harmonics of Wylde. Hail the last appearance of Daisley. No matter. This was a perfect combination of old and new, processed and punchy. Sadly, he never sounded this good again.
Honorable Mention: “Bark At The Moon,” Bark At The Moon (1983). Thank you, “co-writers” Lee and Daisley.


Lindsey Buckingham Fired From Fleetwood Mac

So the members of Fleetwood Mac fired Lindsey Buckingham over disagreements about the band's upcoming tour. No tour dates have yet been announced but Mike Campbell and Neil Finn will take the place of Buckingham. This seems stupid to me, but whatever. I can't imagine Buckingham cares too much or needs the money. We'll see how this pans out.

Holiday Road

Stryper Release 'Lost' Audio

Stryper will release God Damn Evil on April 20. One of the singles on that album is "Lost" and you can how hear that track below. Singer Michael Sweet produced God Damn Evil himself.

The album title is a prayer request. The band says the title reflects the evil around us. Have a listen and let me know your thoughts.


Richie Sambora, Bon Jovi Members Ready For Rock Hall Induction

Richie Sambora gathered with his former Bon Jovi bandmates to rehearse for their big Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony and concert later this month. Sambora said it was fun and there was no bad blood. I hope that's true. I'm looking forward to seeing the performance and mini reunion.


Megadeth Announces Restored 'Killing Is My Business...and Business Is Good - The Final Kill'

From my inbox, for the Megadeth fans:

Hailed as “The Best Thrash Metal Debut Album All Time” (VH1), legendary thrash metal trailblazers MEGADETH will continue to celebrate the band’s 35th Anniversary with a deluxe re-issue of their revolutionary debut album, “Killing Is My Business…and Business Is Good!”.  The band have partnered with Century Media and Legacy Recordings for a June 8, 2018 release in North America & Europe, and in Japan on June 6, 2018 via Sony Japan.

“Killing Is My Business...and Business Is Good - The Final Kill” has been completely restored to DAVE MUSTAINE’s intended vision. Remixed by veteran metal mixer, Mark Lewis (Trivium, Death Angel, Devildriver, Whitechapel) and re-mastered by Ted Jensen for an optimal listening experience, the 2018 version reveals previously unheard parts and performances throughout the record, including a missing drum performance found during the mixing sessions. This rare gem includes the full original album, along with 7 live audio tracks from VHS tapes found in MUSTAINE’s own attic!

In addition to the bonus live tracks, the re-issue also features MEGADETH’s 1984 3-track demo and the previously removed cover of “These Boots”, that has been added back to the record with recut vocals true to Lee Hazelwood’s version.
 A complete track listing is as follows:
“Killing Is My Business...and Business Is Good - The Final Kill”
1. Last Rites / Loved to Deth (Remastered)   
2. Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remastered)   
3. The Skull Beneath the Skin (Remastered)   
4. Rattlehead (Remastered)
5. Chosen Ones (Remastered)   
6. Looking Down the Cross (Remastered)   
7. Mechanix (Remastered)   
8. These Boots (Remastered)   
9. Last Rites / Loved to Deth (live) (1987 London, UK) 
10. Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (live) (1986 Denver, CO)   
11. The Skull Beneath the Skin (live) (1990 London, UK)   
12. Rattlehead (live) (1987 Bochum, Germany) 
13. Chosen Ones (live) (1986 Denver, CO)   
14. Looking Down the Cross (live) (1986 Denver, CO)   
15. Mechanix (live) (1986 Denver, CO)  
16. Last Rites / Loved to Deth (demo) (Remastered)    
17. The Skull Beneath the Skin (demo) (Remastered)   
18. Mechanix (demo) (Remastered)   
The re-issue is further enhanced by new album cover artwork, as seen showcased above, featuring a fully executed sculpture of the iconic skull that has been lost over the many years since the album’s initial release. The packaging also includes classic flyers and band photos pulled from their archive of timeless metal moments from MEGADETH’s storied 35-year history. 
‘The Final Kill’ is the complete vision of main man, MUSTAINE, who commented stating, “I am just as much amazed at the music we made as I am at the pure fact that we survived it all!” 

MUSTAINE further delves into the struggles during that time period as well as some of the surprising moments during the remixing sessions throughout the re-issue’s liner notes.
“Killing Is My Business...and Business Is Good - The Final Kill” is now available for pre-order in the below format options:

North America:
CD Digipak (In stores & Online)
Gatefold Red 2LP – Limited to 1500 copies (In stores & Online)
Gatefold Black 2LP (In stores & Online)
Gatefold White 2LP -  Limited to 500 copies (FYE Exclusive)
Gatefold Silver 2LP – Limited to 500 copies (Band Exclusive available on